Click here to visit our UK based sponsor store €urosky....... Click here to visit our Ireland based sponsor store @ Sat-TV-help.......

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 24

Thread: Backup E2 Image for Amiko Alien 2

      
   
  1. #11
    Donated member lpl74's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Donegal, Ireland
    Posts
    410
    Casino Cash
    £66288
    Thanks / Like
    183
    Thanked 130 Times in 78 Posts
    Forgot to mention when you do a backup, it contains everything that's in the image even your server info so be careful about posting and make sure you remove sensitive material.

  2. The Following User Says Thank You to lpl74 For This Useful Post:


  3. #12
    Donated member termite's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    North West Ireland
    Posts
    369
    Casino Cash
    £56400
    Thanks / Like
    38
    Thanked 106 Times in 76 Posts
    Thanks lpl74.

    I will give it a whirl and see how it works. I have been trying out images to find the best. So far I have not found one that works out of the box; they all need a lot of tweaking. At the moment I am on HDMU, I was using PKT and have looked at openAR-P. Networking is important to me, I have got HDMU to be seen in network places (windows 7 64) using a different version of samba then the one shipped with the image. I have also got to the point that I can access an HDD attached to my Netgear router, but it did take a lot of time to sort it all out. I don't like HDMU media player and am looking for a better one.

    I also find that E2 images are easy to corrupt with adding the wrong plug-in or if the system crashes at a difficult moment.

    The backup and restore will make life o lot easier trying to find that perfect image and config.

  4. #13
    Junior Member father ted's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    4
    Thanks / Like
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Hi, I loaded PKTeam_Nebula on my 8900 and am now having problems trying to get a backup image to install. After loading the PKTeam image from USB stick I did a channel scan and got my bouquets sorted. Rebooted into Spark and got the plugin_e2upgrade.s installed. So far, so good. Went through the steps as outlined by rizla1uk earlier in this thread and after running the plugin_e2upgrade.s I ended up with a folder on USB stick called "back_of_e2". Inside the folder I had the two files called e2jffs2 and uImage. Now, heres the problem, the original e2jffs2 image is just under 74Mb in size but the new e2jffs2 in the "back_of_e2" folder is nearly 122Mb. I've tried loading it through Spark and it seems to load ok but when I reboot into E2 I just get "Boot" on front panel. Also tried installing it through Force install, starts ok but locks up after a while before install is finished. I presume the file at 122Mb is too big and would appreciate any advice on where I'm going wrong or is there some way to trim the E2 image before I make the backup.
    Thanks in advance for any help.

  5. #14
    Jnr Mod rizla1uk's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Canterbury Kent
    Posts
    518
    Casino Cash
    £32447
    Thanks / Like
    201
    Thanked 139 Times in 89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by father ted View Post
    Hi, I loaded PKTeam_Nebula on my 8900 and am now having problems trying to get a backup image to install. After loading the PKTeam image from USB stick I did a channel scan and got my bouquets sorted. Rebooted into Spark and got the plugin_e2upgrade.s installed. So far, so good. Went through the steps as outlined by rizla1uk earlier in this thread and after running the plugin_e2upgrade.s I ended up with a folder on USB stick called "back_of_e2". Inside the folder I had the two files called e2jffs2 and uImage. Now, heres the problem, the original e2jffs2 image is just under 74Mb in size but the new e2jffs2 in the "back_of_e2" folder is nearly 122Mb. I've tried loading it through Spark and it seems to load ok but when I reboot into E2 I just get "Boot" on front panel. Also tried installing it through Force install, starts ok but locks up after a while before install is finished. I presume the file at 122Mb is too big and would appreciate any advice on where I'm going wrong or is there some way to trim the E2 image before I make the backup.
    Thanks in advance for any help.
    a larger file size can be normal depending on what youve added to the original install, channel settings etc etc. Did you take the 2 files out of the "back_of_e2" and put them on the root of the usb to update ?. If not Spark will try to update non-existing files and may get stuck on the boot ? try that and update again.

    Just to clarify, you are using the 8900 and this method worked ok ? i have the Alien 2 and no access to a 8900
    Alien 2 twin tuner Technomate 1.1m quad LNB for me - Humax Foxsat 60cm sly dish Quad LNB for 'er indoors soaps. Various other STB for kids

  6. The Following 2 Users Liked This Post / Thanked rizla1uk For This Useful Post:


  7. #15
    Junior Member father ted's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    4
    Thanks / Like
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Hi rizla, Thanks for the fast response. Yes I'm using the Amiko 8900 and PKTeam Nebula image installed fairly easy. According to Spark, both Image generation and then install completed sucessfully. I put the two files in the root of the USB stick first and when that didnt work, I tried putting them into an enigma2 folder on USB stick. USB stick is ok as I can install the PKTeam image with it.

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to father ted For This Useful Post:


  9. #16
    Jnr Mod rizla1uk's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Canterbury Kent
    Posts
    518
    Casino Cash
    £32447
    Thanks / Like
    201
    Thanked 139 Times in 89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by father ted View Post
    Hi rizla, Thanks for the fast response. Yes I'm using the Amiko 8900 and PKTeam Nebula image installed fairly easy. According to Spark, both Image generation and then install completed sucessfully. I put the two files in the root of the USB stick first and when that didnt work, I tried putting them into an enigma2 folder on USB stick. USB stick is ok as I can install the PKTeam image with it.
    Strange, as i say, i dont have access to a 8900 but i'm trying to help a member as i type. maybe it can get sorted with an imminent post of a backup. not sure when cuebase will be able to upload it, but it may cure your problem as well ??
    Alien 2 twin tuner Technomate 1.1m quad LNB for me - Humax Foxsat 60cm sly dish Quad LNB for 'er indoors soaps. Various other STB for kids

  10. #17
    Junior Member father ted's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    4
    Thanks / Like
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    That sounds great. I have two 8900's and I wanted to be sure that I had a working backup image before trying out some other images. I have E2 set up just right on one box and using the other box to test the backup image. Again thanks for all the help, after reading the earlier comments I know it will work in the end.

  11. #18
    Jnr Mod rizla1uk's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Canterbury Kent
    Posts
    518
    Casino Cash
    £32447
    Thanks / Like
    201
    Thanked 139 Times in 89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by father ted View Post
    That sounds great. I have two 8900's and I wanted to be sure that I had a working backup image before trying out some other images. I have E2 set up just right on one box and using the other box to test the backup image. Again thanks for all the help, after reading the earlier comments I know it will work in the end.
    it sure will. watch the 8900 section for the file upload, if you get stuck shout up.
    Alien 2 twin tuner Technomate 1.1m quad LNB for me - Humax Foxsat 60cm sly dish Quad LNB for 'er indoors soaps. Various other STB for kids

  12. #19
    Junior Member father ted's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    4
    Thanks / Like
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Will do, any idea what the name of the file will be, or what other image is good on the 8900 ?

  13. #20
    Jnr Mod rizla1uk's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Canterbury Kent
    Posts
    518
    Casino Cash
    £32447
    Thanks / Like
    201
    Thanked 139 Times in 89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by father ted View Post
    Will do, any idea what the name of the file will be, or what other image is good on the 8900 ?
    not sure on file name yet, as for other images i dont know, try posting and asking other members in the amiko 8900 section :-)
    Alien 2 twin tuner Technomate 1.1m quad LNB for me - Humax Foxsat 60cm sly dish Quad LNB for 'er indoors soaps. Various other STB for kids

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Webutation

Flag Counter
TopSat.Org The Best Satellite Top Lists !!! Daily Stats !!!