Click here to visit our UK based sponsor store €urosky....... Click here to visit our Ireland based sponsor store @ Sat-TV-help.......

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 49

Thread: TM-Twin 4k, first impressions

      
   
  1. #1
    TM fanboy :) digidude's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    De Cymru
    Posts
    3,078
    Casino Cash
    £334341

    TM-Twin 4k, first impressions

    So, i finally got some time to have a look at this receiver that ive had for the last week, and, as usual, the first thing ill do is take it apart

    Upon looking over the packaging, it states that the power supply is 3.5A, but, the one that comes with the receiver is actually 5A, so nice and hefty for driving motors, i have a quick flick through the first pages of the manual, and the first safety warning states that the receiver will only operate with a 2.5A power supply. Somebody obviously didnt proof read everything and connect the dots

    Stuck to the actual manual, is 4 small rubber feet, that youd expect to find on the bottom of the receiver, i take the receiver out of the packaging, and holy crap, this things on stilts lol. 4 big rubber feet, about 10mm deep and 15mm across

    Back to the manual, and it says to ensure the things listed are in the packaging, one is a 3.5A power supply (a 5A comes supplied) and another is an External IR sensor, with optional in brackets, and not included

    It has the power supply, Fig '8' mains lead, a HDMI lead, remote and batteries, and the SATA cable for fitting an internal HDD, and 2 very long screws

    I take a screwdriver to the receiver, and notice that there are 2 plastic washers on each of the case retaining screws, i have NEVER seen this on a technomate receiver before, but off with the lid.

    Theres not a lot of room inside this little box, its the same desing as all of the other TM-NANO type receivers, but, looking at the mainboard, i spot the 'FORCE 3 UHD' stamp, which i posted about on my blog a while back, saying that i think this receiver will be the TM-4k receiver, i was right

    To fit the HDD, there are to hollow posts, which the long screws pass through, and fix to the bottom of the HDD. To do this, you have to completley remove the front of the receiver. A small screw on each side, lift the plastic tabs, and roll the top of the fascia down, then away from the receivers body. Remove the 2 ribbon cables, and youre ready to go. Fit the HDD with the SATA connector pointing towards the rear of the receiver

    Now, whoever designed this, needs to have a word with themselfs, as to get the front of the receiver back on, you have to slide the card slot thats attached to the fascia under one of the bodys clips, then slide it over the top of the hdd, while trying to get the 2 tabs into the bottom of the receiver, and then put the 2 ribbon cables back into their sockets. once this is done, the card reader is sitting on the top of the HDD, on a little rubber pad, and is being bent by the pressure. You can still insert a viewing card, but it cant be good for the plastic that holds the card reader in place.

    I powered the receiver up, and in the short time i grabbed my Nano SE M2 Plus remote, it had fully booted.

    Woah!!! that was fast, let me check this.

    from the instant i press the power on button on the back of the receiver, to a picture clearing on the screen, 25.14 seconds (using the default 4D PLi based image.

    Im off to have a play with the software, and see how long it takes me to brick it now, ill update shortly



    Viewing as a guest? Click HERE to register and see the good stuff

    I break my stuff, so you wont have to

    If this post offends you, dont read it.

    Allergy Warning! Posted by a nut

    My OTHER hobby, im not all satellite releated fun
    Technomate blog

    Click here to order direct from €urosky


    Quote Originally Posted by A-joker
    Some people read far too much crap on other forums from so called experts who them selves know sweet FA
     ...to the topTop

  2. #2
    TM fanboy :) digidude's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    De Cymru
    Posts
    3,078
    Casino Cash
    £334341
    Thread Starter
    OK, so after playing with the receiver, ive managed to get it into a state where im unable to flash it from an unzipped image on a usb stick, but thats no biggie, i can still flash it in other ways, but, i have worked out why it seems that the rubber feet that it left the factory with have been replaced with bigger ones.

    After about 90 minutes of use, the bottom of this little box is roaring hot. It has a little fan in the back, and quite a decent heatsink on the processor, and the top of the receiver is cool to the touch. But under the processor is shockingly hot


    Viewing as a guest? Click HERE to register and see the good stuff

    I break my stuff, so you wont have to

    If this post offends you, dont read it.

    Allergy Warning! Posted by a nut

    My OTHER hobby, im not all satellite releated fun
    Technomate blog

    Click here to order direct from €urosky


    Quote Originally Posted by A-joker
    Some people read far too much crap on other forums from so called experts who them selves know sweet FA
     ...to the topTop

  3. #3
    Administrator pauldb's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    north west
    Posts
    6,627
    Casino Cash
    £620943
    too small a case, needs a bigger case for airflow and a display id say
     ...to the topTop

  4. #4
    Donated member steve123a's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    34
    Hello. I was thinking of buying this receiver over the Mutant 4k. Is the picture quality good on HD and SD? Is there a problem with your box with all of the heat you describe, or is this normal. One last question, will it work with a motorised dish ok. I use a spiderbox with Usals amd this is my first venture into a Linux box.

    Thanks
     ...to the topTop

  5. #5
    Donated member deltec's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    135
    Casino Cash
    £25450
    don't bother mate look at the tecnhomate forim manic digi dod and all the members been let down
     ...to the topTop

  6. #6
    Donated member steve123a's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    34
    Sorry, did I not miss something.? I did not see any members saying they had been let down with this receiver? Maybe I have not found the website where these issues were described? Please point me in the right direction. I have read Manic'c posts for many years and I listen to his thoughts. Manic or Digi, would you like to comment on the receiver being no good? Thanks
     ...to the topTop

  7. #7
    Donated member deltec's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    135
    Casino Cash
    £25450
    I agree the case is to small and airflow and a display id say
    needs a biger case
     ...to the topTop

  8. #8
    TM fanboy :) digidude's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    De Cymru
    Posts
    3,078
    Casino Cash
    £334341
    Thread Starter
    @deltec, do you actually own a TM-Twin 4k?


    Viewing as a guest? Click HERE to register and see the good stuff

    I break my stuff, so you wont have to

    If this post offends you, dont read it.

    Allergy Warning! Posted by a nut

    My OTHER hobby, im not all satellite releated fun
    Technomate blog

    Click here to order direct from €urosky


    Quote Originally Posted by A-joker
    Some people read far too much crap on other forums from so called experts who them selves know sweet FA
     ...to the topTop

  9. #9
    Donated member steve123a's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    34
    Hi Digi. I read your report with interest and wondered what you think after having for a while now. I want a new receiver and the spec on this looks very good, but I will value your opinion. I see everyone recommends the vu boxes, but at the moment my budget will not stretch to that.

    Thanks
     ...to the topTop

  10. #10
    Donated member deltec's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    135
    Casino Cash
    £25450
    tecnoome has gone down the pan of late if u ask me hasent brought a satellite box out in the last 3 years ie 5000 s promised 2 new boxes last month people still wating and as for the liniux boxes not very manay images vix atv 4d as to the above member go for a vu bud u cant go rong with the vu boxes there start at 110 pounds up woods
     ...to the topTop

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Webutation

Flag Counter
TopSat.Org The Best Satellite Top Lists !!! Daily Stats !!!